London

image

Today, exausted from a late night trip to the out of hours doctors last night, I went along on a school trip to London with DS2 and his class as a parent helper.
I had been really looking forward to it and so had DS2. I don’t visit London much which of course means neither do the boys so it was an exciting trip for the both of us. I was also a bit nervous.  No matter how old you are social situations can be really tough when you don’t know the other people very well and I especially get very anxious about it. I was really glad to find a few mums in particular that were really easy to talk to and the anxiety quickly eased and I relaxed.
We each had our own child and any other children we were responsible for in tow and we set off for the train station. DS2 was so excited when we started to walk through the tunnel and up the stairs to the station. Ever since he was very little he has always been fascinated by trains and I felt a tinge of guilt that I hadn’t made more of an effort to take him and the boys for train rides. Something so simple to me is an exciting adventure for a train loving six year old.
We all piled into one carriage and DS2 was looking out of the window amazed. When we went through a tunnel he was beaming and saying ‘wow’. I couldn’t help but laugh to myself every time we stopped at a station, the annoyance on the business people’s faces as they waited on the platform for their train and the carriage full of excitable five and six year olds pulls up right in front of them was quite amusing.

image

The teachers had planned the day out really well and had sheets with lots of activities for all of the children. DS2 was really excited, every time he spotted something from the sheet he’d pull on my hand and point really proud of himself for finding something. When we found the big fountain he was most excited to see lots of coins in the water, he asked of he could take a picture of it on my phone and of course I didn’t breath until he handed it back to me I was sure he was going to make a wish with my phone!

image

It wasn’t to long before he was geting tired of walking around and was glad to stop for lunch at St James’ Park. We watched the guards marching and it was so much fun seeing them on horses, playing trumpets and drums.
The last stop before we headed back was a really great little park that the class had to themselves DS2 found his energy reserves and had great fun playing with his friends.

image

I had so much fun today. It was amazing seeing all the sights that are at the heart of the country we live in but most of all it was amazing to spend a rare day together just DS2 and myself. The best part of the whole day was when he said (and he actually said this, which bought a tear to my eye), ‘I had fun today but it was best of all spending the whole day with you’. That right there is a melt the heart moment.

Author:

I am a 28 year old mum living in Kent. I am totally outnumbered living with my husband and 3 boys but I love the fun and adventure they bring to my life. As a family we enjoy being active and to get out and about as much as possible. A little about us Me- My husband and I met 12 years ago when I was 16 and him 19. Being so young I don't think either of us expected a nervous first date at the cinema to lead to marriage and 3 children but we soon became inseparable. It can be hard staying 'girlie' in a house full of boys. DS1- DS1 is very sporty. He enjoys football, rugby and swimming but his real passion is motocross. I think hubby would have happily had him on a motocross bike the second he took his first step but he first started to ride when he got his first 50cc bike at 6 years old. Now, aged 8, he rides with complete confidence on his 65cc and is desperate to start competing. As his mother I will always worry about him no mater what he does but seeing how happy this sport makes him makes me want to support him 100%. DS2- DS2 is a real animal lover. He would love nothing more than to have a house full of cats and dogs but unfortunately for him the only pet we have is our goldfish named 'Goldie'. When we visit family who have dogs DS2 will happily sit there for hours talking, stroking and trying to teach them tricks. Computer games is DS2's favourite pass time. He was gifted a tablet for Christmas last year and now, at 6, he has my husband bugging him on tips to get new levels. To keep active DS2 really enjoys swimming. He is not afraid of the water at all and would swim every day given the chance. He has such a loving, caring personality. DS3- DS3 is, well, a real handful as most 2 year olds are. He is never short of energy and zooms everywhere at a million miles an hour on his favourite balance 'motorbike'. Much to my husbands joy DS3 is also obsessed, yes obsessed with motocross. All he wants to do is play motorbikes, wear DS1's helmet and boots at any given chance and watch the videos of DS1 riding. DS3 learns so much from his older brothers and he surprises me everyday with how daring and forward he is in so many ways.

4 thoughts on “London

Leave a Reply

