A Heart Melting Moment

Today was one of those days where a good plan got stressful real quick.
Hubby was out playing on his motocross bike today so the kids and I decided we’d have our own fun at the beach.
As any mum knows, geting out the front door with kids is a mammoth task.
DS3 (2 years old) wanted to take absaloutly every toy he owned to the beach. We compromised on a big digger truck, a motorbike, a quad and a really annoying noisy police motorbike just so we could get out of the house.
I’m usually really lucky with my boys they are really well behaved in the car. They sit quietly and rarely annoy each other.

Today however it felt as though they had saved it all up over the years for this mornings car journey.
DS3 ‘s noisy police motorbike started a repetitive siren noise as soon as I’d got onto the motorway (which was immediately crawling along because of traffic) and I couldn’t pull over to stop it. DS2 (6 years old) decided to pretend to be making the siren noise mouthing every ‘wooooooaaa’ at his younger brother sitting next to him in the back who got instantly irritated and screamed every five seconds about it. This just seamed to be a fun game for DS2 who was in hysterical laughter and kept on and on until it turned into ‘mum he looked at me’ ‘mum he stuck his tongue out at me!’ All the while DS1 (8 years old) is sitting next to me trying to ignore it all playing on his favourite app. An app which teaches you how to play the guitar and all I can hear from the seat next to me is the rhythm to ‘Mary had a little lamb’ although it went a little more like this
‘Mary had a’
‘Mary had’
‘Mary had a little’
‘Mary had a’
Let me tell you Mary almost had a little flying lesson out of the car window.
All of this was going on and I could feel my eye twitching and my stress levels rising and then DS1 says, almost so quietly I don’t hear him. ‘You’re the best mum ever’ It hit me right out of the blue I really wasn’t expecting him to say that.
‘Aw thank you ‘ is all I could say.
‘You always take us places and do stuff with us and play on the trampoline with us and… you know you’re the best’
It completely melted my heart. All the noise that was stressing me out a few seconds before was still going on in the background but all that stress just melted away.
It’s made me think how, although I’d like to think that I don’t care about other people’s opinions, I have held on to a lot of negative opinions before. Weather it was the lady in the shop who tutted at me whilst I allowed my child to tantrum on the floor of the supermarket or the man who muttered ‘that’s no good is it?’ at me when I gave my child a packet of sweets in the trolley just so I could get through this one shopping trip without him screaming bloody murder because he wants to run around. I’d let that sort of judgment against my parenting keep me awake at night and get me down days after.

Now my gorgeous eight year old child compliments my parenting out of the blue unprompted and I realise my children’s opinion is the only opinion that matters to me. There are a lot of people who will judge what kind of a mother I am but my children love me and they think I’m awesome and they are the only people I want to impress.
image

The rest of the beach trip went really well. We had the best day together and it’s definitely one for us to remember.

 

 

Diary of an imperfect mum

 

Author:

I am a 28 year old mum living in Kent. I am totally outnumbered living with my husband and 3 boys but I love the fun and adventure they bring to my life. As a family we enjoy being active and to get out and about as much as possible. A little about us Me- My husband and I met 12 years ago when I was 16 and him 19. Being so young I don't think either of us expected a nervous first date at the cinema to lead to marriage and 3 children but we soon became inseparable. It can be hard staying 'girlie' in a house full of boys. DS1- DS1 is very sporty. He enjoys football, rugby and swimming but his real passion is motocross. I think hubby would have happily had him on a motocross bike the second he took his first step but he first started to ride when he got his first 50cc bike at 6 years old. Now, aged 8, he rides with complete confidence on his 65cc and is desperate to start competing. As his mother I will always worry about him no mater what he does but seeing how happy this sport makes him makes me want to support him 100%. DS2- DS2 is a real animal lover. He would love nothing more than to have a house full of cats and dogs but unfortunately for him the only pet we have is our goldfish named 'Goldie'. When we visit family who have dogs DS2 will happily sit there for hours talking, stroking and trying to teach them tricks. Computer games is DS2's favourite pass time. He was gifted a tablet for Christmas last year and now, at 6, he has my husband bugging him on tips to get new levels. To keep active DS2 really enjoys swimming. He is not afraid of the water at all and would swim every day given the chance. He has such a loving, caring personality. DS3- DS3 is, well, a real handful as most 2 year olds are. He is never short of energy and zooms everywhere at a million miles an hour on his favourite balance 'motorbike'. Much to my husbands joy DS3 is also obsessed, yes obsessed with motocross. All he wants to do is play motorbikes, wear DS1's helmet and boots at any given chance and watch the videos of DS1 riding. DS3 learns so much from his older brothers and he surprises me everyday with how daring and forward he is in so many ways.

4 thoughts on “A Heart Melting Moment

Leave a Reply

